Streams Of Yoga

There are four streams of Yoga according Bhagavad Gita and Ancient Vedic science: They are:

  • Karma Yoga
  • Bhakti Yoga
  • Jnana Yoga
  • Raja Yoga

The four paths of yoga have been in existence from the time yoga originated. However, in the past, only one of these paths was in focus at a given time. The Bhagavad gita discusses the four paths of yoga to an extent. Shankara focuses mainly on jnana yoga, Ramanuja has focused only on bhakti yoga. Patanjali’s yoga sutra mainly emphasized the importance of raja yoga. Karma yoga was not known till the 1890s, when Swami Vivekananda spoke extensively about the four paths of yoga in his teachings worldwide.

Karma Yoga:

Bhakthi Yoga:

Jnana Yoga:

 Raja Yoga: